The one with painted magazine pages

16 Feb

Happy Sunday.

It’s been a productive week. I’ve been working on a few projects and checked some of my February goals off my list (yay!). Here is my visual reminder to ACT; took this yesterday while I was working on a few of those projects:

photoMy friend, Jennifer, lent me these stamps (by Close to My Heart) and they are perfect for mixed media.

I recently found the artist, Alma Stoller, and her work with magaizne pages. In fact, I’ve started using her idea of paint anything for 10 minutes as a creative warm up. Basically, you tear out a magazine page and start painting. I use a mix of Liquitex Basic acrylic paints and fluid acrylics (Folk Art and Americana which are inexpensive and work pretty well for this). So, here are some of my creations

paint1

paint3

paint5

paint7

paint8It’s a heck of a lot of fun! I try not to over think it and just get the paint down on the pages. I made a bunch of cards with these pages, but unfortunately, forgot to take pictures of them. I have this one, so you can get an idea of what they looked like

photoThis is definitely a practice I am going to continue. These pages can be used in art journaling, mixed media pieces, and of course cards. So, give it a try and let me know what you think!

Till next week,
Cheers,
Michelle

One Response to “The one with painted magazine pages”

  1. havenofinspiration March 7, 2014 at 4:06 pm #

    Reblogged this on Haven of Inspiration.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

