The one where I announce my workshop series

23 Mar

Happy Sunday!

I don’t know about you, but March sure did come in like a lion in my house. I got sick (9 days) and since we share in our house, gave it to my hubs. I even missed the monthly Nashville Collage Collective event at the Turnip Green! I guess that’s way it feels like this month is flying by. Does anyone else feel that way?

Today I’m happy to report that I am (finally) feeling better; I can even breath through my nose again! And I am super excited to announce that I am officially teaching an Art Journal workshop series at the Turnip Green beginning next Saturday!!!!!!! Woo Hoo!!!!

In this four part series  we will be making our own art journal using up-cycled posters (thank you VU Divinity School!). I’ll show the group how to do a simple saddle stitch to bind the journals out of the posters. We’ll go from this:

journal 3

to this:

Workshop9After we finish binding the journals, we’ll decorate the covers using (more) recycled papers and acrylic paints. Here are a few samples:

journal 4

journal 5

and my most recent cover

Journal1

We’ll meet again in April to create our next layout. In session two, we’ll work on a gratitude page. In May we will use magazine pages and acrylic paints to collage our layout. And finally, in June I will share how I use everyday items to create interesting backgrounds for my layouts.

Here is the schedule (all session are at the Turnip Green):

March 29 from 1 – 3 pm   Create journal and decorate covers
April 26 1 – 3 pm Gratitude layout
May 24 1 – 3 pm Collage layout
June 28 1 – 3 pm Creating interesting backgrounds

If you’re in Nashville and you’d like to join us, reserve your spot by emailing Kelly info@turnipgreencreativereuse.org

I hope to see you there!

Cheers,
Michelle

One Response to “The one where I announce my workshop series”

  1. havenofinspiration March 27, 2014 at 7:24 pm #

    Reblogged this on Haven of Inspiration and commented:
    I love your schedule for the Turnip Green This schedule is so simple. I am going to do this

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

