Recycled Art Cards

15 Sep

I would like to introduce you to my recycled art cards. I just put a set in the mail today to my little cousins, so I can’t share photos of them just yet. But I will share some of the other ones I’ve made.

The idea came to me at the beginning of the this year after a visit with my cousin and her family. She and her husband have four girls (yes I said four!) and I really enjoy spending time with them. They’re at the age where they are actually interested in spending time with me as well. However, we live 4 1/2 hours apart and we just don’t seem to be able to visit as often as we’d like. I thought it would be fun to stay in touch somehow between visits and find a creative way to get to know them better in the process.

Recycled art cards were born. They are essentially a post card. I create artwork on the front and write a note to each of them on the back. I start with magazine subscription cards and cover them in gesso. (Note: I had planned to include photos from start to finish, but my computer had other ideas and decided to crash my iPhoto. I managed to find 2 examples which are actually the first 2 cards I made so I guess it’s alright).  Anyhow, after the gesso dries (gesso turns many surfaces into a workable canvas – it gives your paper “teeth”), I usually paint the background color. I use acrylics (medium and liquid), magazine pages, newspaper, soft gel medium, scrapbook papers, markers, stamps and anything else that strikes my fancy a the time. So, here is the first one I sent:

This one has layers of paint, newsprint, gesso then more paint and finally the flower petals from a magazine page.

I covered this card with newsprint and then hand painted these red flowers. The girls really liked them! In fact, all four of them decided to make their own cards. I love them (and would have shared a photo but again, my computer…..). Anyhow, their cards are on my inspiration board in my art room and make me smile whenever I look at them.

But before I close, I really do need to thank a few people. I have been thinking about starting a blog for a long time, but one friend really gave me the push I needed. She suggested setting a start by date (which is why even thought I don’t have all the photos I wanted to use, I’m posting today anyhow, cause September 15th was my date!). Thank you Viki! Another (new) friend reminded me that when things start to become too complicated, keep it simple. So, I have Heather to thank for my blog name. And last but not least, I have to thank my hubs who always encourages me to follow my dreams.

Ok, enough of the corny stuff. If you like my cards, I’d love for you to leave a comment. And thank you for sharing the first step in this new creative journey with me.

9 Responses to “Recycled Art Cards”

  1. jimmiesworld September 15, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    Welcome! These cards are gorgeous, but I already knew that they would be.

  2. Nancy September 15, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    Fantastic!!!!!

  3. Phyllis September 15, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

    These are beautiful and very creative artwork. What a great idea to use gesso and to recycle. I know the 4 cousins loved doing these cards, also. Aunt PJ

  4. havenofinspiration March 27, 2014 at 11:20 pm #

    Reblogged this on Haven of Inspiration and commented:
    Your site is just what I am looking for!!! I’m a very very beginner and am exploring a lot. Than you so much for sharing the beginners beginning!!!!

    • studiobukowski March 30, 2014 at 1:14 pm #

      I’m glad you’re finding inspiration from my cards. You’ll have to share how yours turn out!

  5. tenukihandcrafts April 27, 2014 at 5:09 pm #

    What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

