Art journaling

29 Sep

As far back as I can remember, I have kept a written word journal; mostly they are chronological journals. You know, the large and small events that make up my life in chronological order. About 2 years ago, I started being intentional about including more things like books I read, movies I’ve seen, television I watch in a monthly roundup (thanks for the idea, Katie the Scrapbook lady!) I also have started doing random “I Love” pages where I list anything that comes to mind that I love (like pineapple, bridges, when the leaves turn colors in the fall). You know, those little things that people may not know about you unless they know you really well. I think it might be fun for my son (or my WAY in the future grandkids) to read and get a little more insight into what made me the person I am.

But, I digress. Anyhow, sometime over the last year, I found myself searching for a new creative outlet. I had found  Mary Ann Moss and her fantasticly yummy Remains of the Day journal on You Tube. I made one, well, my version of a ROD journal and while I truly enjoyed making it, it wasn’t exactly what I was looking for. Then, low and behold, I stumbled upon art journals. One of the first artists I found was Milliande. She is amazing and so cute! I was so inspired, that I reproduced her art journal cover.

I actually have 4 art journals in various stages that I work on. Mostly because when I get inspired, I don’t care for little things like paint or adhesive needing to dry to slow me down. The following pictures are of a page inspired by one of my favorite artists, Donna Downey (check out her blog, Simply Me) By the way, I love sharing these wonderful artists who inspire me and by all means, please check out their links, but hurry back to Studio B!

So, what do you think?

Sidebar: I have discovered that photographing my art is a lot different than my regular photography. Lighting these pages just right so you get to enjoy their true colors and the fun textures is a new experience. Any tips?

Check back next WEDNESDAY (if you’re keeping tabs, I’ve been posting on Saturday) for a new post about Gesso. A dear friend was kind enough to share my blog on her facebook page and then asked “What’s gesso?” Nancy, the next one is for you!

Cheers,

Michelle

2 Responses to “Art journaling”

  1. Nancy September 29, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Love it! This is so inspiring. I can’t wait to start my own. And I love your photos & narrative. Thanks for sharing yourself with us.

  2. studiobukowski September 30, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Thanks, Nancy! It warms my heart to hear you call my work inspiring.

Leave a Reply

