Surprise, art in the mail (part 1)

6 Oct

Last Wednesday, in my post about gesso (pronounced jes-oh), I shared a few photos of some works in progress. The intended recipient of said projects was my mom (who kindly reads Studio B) so I didn’t want to blow the surprise.  She lives out in Vegas and I’ve been telling her about these art cards that I started for the girls, and she read the post about making them, but she’s an artist and very visual like me  ( well, I guess I’m like her) so I thought she might like one for herself. Plus, I found these really cool stamps and got inspired!


I decided to also start a circle art journal with her (but you’ll have to check back next week to see that project….didn’t you read the title? This is Part One!).

Anyhow, you may recall this photo and my explanation that I wasn’t happy with how it was starting to unfold, so I covered it in gesso and changed up the orientation. And I’m so glad that I did! I repainted the background color and as I was working on that, I realized that another element that wasn’t working in the first version were the leaves. I had painted the tree first and then tried adding the leaves. All that did was cover up the branches I had painted and it looked kinda funny (I should have taken a photo of that, sorry). So this time, I decided to start with the leaves. And I used one of my very favorite tools – BUBBLE WRAP! I love me some bubble wrap. I cut a small strip and painted my leaf color on. Next, I pressed it onto my card a few times till it looked right (to my eye)  and this is how it started shaping up: So, now we’re getting somewhere! I repainted the tree (free-hand) and now we have this:

But I want it to mimic the stamp, so I add it and after a few final touches, we have this:

Not too shabby, I think. My mom loved it so I guess that’s what really counts. Let me know what you think.

Part Two (next Saturday, Oct 13) will reveal the second item I sent her: a mother daughter circle art journal. You won’t want to miss it!

Cheers,

Michelle

2 Responses to “Surprise, art in the mail (part 1)”

  1. jimmiesworld October 17, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    You are so creative!

    • studiobukowski October 17, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

      Thank you! High praise indeed coming from an author!

Leave a Reply

