Surprise, art in the mail (part 2)

14 Oct

Greetings! Last week, I shared the art card I made for my mom. I also told you that I would share with you the circle art journal that I started with her. But first, I should tell you about circle journals (or my version of them). I heard about this type of journal years ago and I guess it had been tucked away in some corner of my mind waiting for the day it would emerge.

That day was a little over 2 years ago, while I was still in the midst of trying to make some sense out of the unexpected passing of my dad. Not to digress, but I will tell you that he was the kindest, most gentle person you could have met and I miss him every day. Part of my journey through my grief included evaluating the relationships in my life. Those I would take care to work on if needed, to strengthen or just continue to build and those I would let go because as I just learned, life really is too short.

So, I turned to 2 of my favorite people, who happen to also be family members, and proposed this journal. I decorated a composition book (remember when I told you that I was having trouble with my iPhoto, well that’s the reason I’m not sharing what it looks like, but trust me, it’s pretty darned cool!). Anyhow, the idea is for the 3 of us to get to know each other better, as women, not the mothers we all are, the wives, professionals etc, but what makes us who we are. So, for the first few go rounds, I proposed the question. Sometimes, it’s a fun, light question, sometimes it deeper. And then I asked my cousin to take over, and boy, she hit us with a doozy (love ya cuz!)  We’ve all taken to making comments as we read through the others answers, and I have to be honest, sometimes, that’s my favorite part! And since we live in 3 different states, we have to mail it out (from me, to my sister-in-law to my cousin and back to me – hence the name, Circle Journal). It keeps us connected and it’s fun when you open your mailbox and see that envelope. I’ve enjoyed it so much, I asked some friends if they would be interested and so far, it’s in the middle of it’s second go round.

And this brings us to the journal I stared with my mom. My mom moved back to Vegas after my dad passed away. It’s hard to live so far apart and a few weeks ago, I realized that what we needed was, you guessed it, a circle journal. But this one would be different. Mom isn’t much of a journaler. But she is an artist and painting is her medium. So, I decided that we needed a circle art journal. I got this journal at the Curb Center’s Boot Camp back in August, and it’s the perfect size (3″ x 5″)to mail.

Here’s the inside page:

And here is my first entry:

Of course, I started with a layer of gesso. After that dried, I went with this pink background color. I used part of a gift bag as my patterned paper (on the left). I softened both the patterned paper and the paint with a thin layer of gesso.

I used crinkled plastic wrap lightly dabbed in paint to add some texture to the pages.

Close up of that texture:

I don’t have any circle stamps, so I used an old creamer lid. Not bad! The birds were found in my favorite local mag, Nashville Art Magazine.

I added pieces of newspaper (The Contributor – I like to recycle after reading the fantastic articles. Plus, I buy multiples each month so I can share a paper and use a paper). I ran the edges of the newsprint on a chocolate colored ink pad for some added definition and I softened each one with some gesso.

Finally, I hand wrote the following quote (you’re going to have to trust me on this, because much to my horror, I discovered that I forgot to take a picture of the final layout!) “Each morning we are born again. What we do today matters most.” I found this on pinterest, and it’s attributed to Buddha.

I got a very excited phone call from my mom when she received her envelope in the mail. She LOVES this idea. We’ve chatted since and she told me she’s sketching out her layout. I can’t wait to get it back. I can’t wait to see what she paints. And I’m so glad she’s excited about painting again! I already asked, and she has given me permission to share her pages.

So, is there someone in your life you can share a circle journal with? If so, I’d love to hear about it!

Cheers,
Michelle

4 Responses to “Surprise, art in the mail (part 2)”

  1. Heather (cousin-in-law) October 14, 2012 at 1:37 am #

    The Circle Journal is amazing! Do it! Brings me closer to the girls I love, Andi & Michelle.
    Thank you, Michelle for your creativity & being an inspiration to me & my 4 girls. Kudos! Keep up the great work, warrior. 🙂 you’re awesome

    • studiobukowski October 17, 2012 at 1:53 am #

      Thank you, Heather, for the kind words. You always inspire me so I’m happy to do so for you and those beautiful girls that I love!

  2. jimmiesworld October 17, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    I love the way you can communicate with someone you love in ways that appeal to you both. What a great idea! I can totally say that as I am part of a Circle Journal and I get it. 🙂

    • studiobukowski October 17, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

      Thanks Jimmie. I’m so glad you are part of one of my circles! Love having creative people around me – it’s inspiring!

Leave a Reply

