Art journal pages in progress

3 Nov

Happy Saturday!

Today, I’d like to share a layout that is in progress. I loved how it stared out. Loved where it was going. And then I’m not quite sure where it went wrong. Not terribly wrong, but  don’t love it anymore. I have hopes that I’ll fall back in love with it when I figure out how to finish it……

I saw this first technique I used on Donna Downey’s blog and had to try it out for myself. (my page is in no way close to her finished page. I really was inspired by this technique, cause, to be honest, I never thought of trying it before.)

She crumpled up paper, smoothed it back out and then glued it into her journal page. On this layout, I used Mod Podge.

Once I had both pages covered in crinkly goodness, I started playing with color. If you watched all of Donna’s video, you’ll see this is where my layout stops looking remotely like hers.

I started playing with a fluid acrylic color by Americana called Hauser Medium Green (I LOVE this green!) and mixed it with a Blu Oltremare by Polycolor. This tube of paint is years old (I found it in my mom’s old paint kit) and it’s still vibrant and easy to work with. Kudos to Polycolor.

I found this great garden sign on Pinterest and had printed it out a while back. It just seemed to fit in with the colors I had come up with.

So far, I’m still loving it. The colors are great, the sign is wonderful (I want one for my garden!) and I’ve been inspired to make grass out of the cover or a newspaper I picked up at Parnassus Books (a lovely independent  bookstore in Nashville. If you live here and haven’t checked them out yet, shame on you. What are you waiting for?!)

So, I tear up pages into “pieces” of grass and adhere them to my layout. And decide it needs something. Flowers, I think. I pull out my stamp sets and find some cool flowers. And I start stamping…..

And here is where we end up. I like it, but I don’t love it. And maybe that’s ok. I’m not sure what it’s missing so until I figure it out, it stays as is. If I ever decide what it is I think it’s missing, I’ll share.

And by the way, the candy corn covered popcorn turned out great. Here’s a few pictures of it when it’s all wrapped up and ready for the kids.


I’d love suggestions on my layout, so if you know what it’s missing, please leave a comment.

Till next time. Cheers,
Michelle

 

4 Responses to “Art journal pages in progress”

  1. lynn sweeney November 3, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    The side with the signs on it is great. The opposite side feels a little flat, is it possible to add some lighter or darker colors to the background? It could just be the picture, but it seems a little flat, compared to the side with the sign, which I love!

    • studiobukowski November 3, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

      Lynn, thanks so much for your comments. and I AGREE! The left side is flat which is why I’m struggling with it. I tried using some inks on the left and didn’t like the effect so I tried to fix it and ended up with that darker, flater page. I’m going to leave it for a bit and come back to it later (hopefully with a good idea)! Thanks so much for reading!

      • lynn sweeney November 3, 2012 at 10:37 pm #

        gesso is great for times like these, thin layers of white which can highlight and then be painted.

      • studiobukowski November 3, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

        Ah, yes, gesso. What would we do without it?!

Leave a Reply

