Art journal layout

11 Nov

Happy Saturday. I can’t believe it’s almost Thanksgiving!! Can you?!

So, this week, I finished up a layout that I LOVE! I’m so pleased with the way it turned out (unlike the one I shared last week and am still pondering over how to fix). So, without further adieu, here it is:

As always, I start with a good layer of gesso. For this layout, I used fluid acrylics (Folk Art and Americana that I picked up at Michaels). I used an old gift card to spread and mix the paints directly onto the pages.

Don’t you love how the Hauser Medium Green and Metallic Blue Sapphire mixed? And how about all that yummy texture? Used gift cards; the gift that keeps on giving! By the way, in case you are wondering, the pieces of wax paper in between my pages are to prevent them from sticking together.

I was enjoying creating this page so much that I forgot to stop and take more step by step pics.

The completed layout!

So here are a few details. I used a paper bag (I think from The Body Shop) to anchor this page. The circles were traced  in pencil using a few “tools” in my arsenal: a creamer lid, a canister from a roll of film (YES, people still use film, in this case, my dear hubs!) and a milk lid. Once traced, I filled in with white paint. The lines are a “stamp” I made. I used the underside of a Starbucks cup holder (I love that corrugated texture! Do you sense a theme? I LOVE good textures) dipped in paint. The picture was found in my favorite mag, Nashville Arts Magazine. I found this fantastic tape at Michaels  (it’s by K&C Company and it’s for their super fun Smash journals). And I used that fantastic pen I was given at the Plaza Art.

I wanted to add something to the text so I used masking tape in a few places.

And just so you believe me, here is a picture with my supplies (somehow the cup holder didn’t find it’s way into this photo, so I guess you’ll just have to believe me!)

I think this might be one of my favorite layouts to date. I’d love to hear what you think.

Cheers,
Michelle

6 Responses to “Art journal layout”

  1. Jessi November 11, 2012 at 3:42 am #

    THAT is wicked! I totally love it! Thanks for tagging me, mama. Good stuff!

    • studiobukowski November 11, 2012 at 3:58 am #

      Thanks for checking it out, mama. Appreciate it!

  2. Nancy Chick November 11, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Fabulous layout, color, textures, and content!

    • studiobukowski November 11, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      Thank you, Nancy! I appreciate your feedback and that you always check out my latest piece of art!

  3. jimmiesworld November 12, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    You amaze me with the things you make. I love how our brains work in different ways – I can truly appreciate the beauty of this but it would have never occured to me in a million years to create something like that. I love it.

    • studiobukowski November 13, 2012 at 2:33 am #

      Thank you! I’ve really enjoyed the challenge of these layouts – unlike anything I’ve done before. Glad you like them!

Leave a Reply

