The one with vintage looking art cards

8 Dec


Happy Saturday.

I thought I would start todays post by sharing I LOVE the Foo Fighters! I’m listening to some tracks off Wasting Light (my fave on this album is These Days) and I love it more and more each time. And now on to the visual arts…

I’ve been working on some new art cards for my cousins. I have to admit, I LOVE the way this set turned out! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, it’s so nice when the vision I see in my head and the piece I’m working on turn out the same, or in some instances better. This set of cards is an instance of better!

Art cards 1

As usual, I started with some magazine subscription cards. I put down a layer of gesso and the paint colors you see are left over paints from journal layouts I’ve been working on. Usually, when I’m working on a layout or section of my layout, I end up with leftover paint. I HATE wasting it, so I’ve started using it for the base layer of my art cards (or sometimes another journal page). I had these cards sitting around for a bit before the idea started forming in my head.

Art cards 2

Do those book pages look familiar? Yep, I’m getting good milage out of this book! After getting tearing up pages, fitting them on the cards and glueing them down (using Golden Soft Gel Medium) the vision really started to take shape.

Art cards 3

Another layer of gesso an the background is looking good!

Art cards 4

Close up of the book pages under gesso. Isn’t that yummy???!!!!!

art card 5

I used the French Script background stamp by Stampin’ Up for this card. I have a ton of SU stamps that I like to use in my art. I painted right on the stamp instead of using ink. And acrylic is water soluble so clean up is easy.

art card 6a

For this part of the card, I duplicated the whole process on a book page. Well, for once, I didn’t start with a layer of gesso since I wanted the words to show through the 2 layers. I mixed my color and painted the straight on the page. After it dried (I probably used my heat tool cause I am impatient and hate to be held up by watching paint dry. I don’t think I could ever work with oil paints!) Next I put down a layer of gesso. And just like I was hoping, the words still show through so you can tell it was a book page. The lion is stamped using Stazon.

art card 6b

I mounted the lion on some card stock and mounted that piece onto the card with the soft gel medium. You can see all the layers here on this finished card. Like I said, it turned out even better than the vision I had in my head. Here are the other three:

art card 6

art card 8

art card 7

Using the book pages gives it a vintage feel. I can’t wait to hear from the girls to see what they think!

Till next time.
Cheers,
Michelle

2 Responses to “The one with vintage looking art cards”

  1. suecarroll1 June 8, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    I love these…actually all your postcards are so cute! What a great idea to use subscription cards!!! I just hate it when they fall out of magazines while you are trying to read:) Thanks for a fantastic idea to repurpose!!

    • studiobukowski June 9, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

      And you always end up with so many of them. I also use them as the “canvas” for greeting cards. I create my piece on the subscription card and then adhere it to the folded card….. Thanks for the comments

Leave a Reply

