The one with the new circle journal layout

11 Feb

Happy Sunday. Originally, I started this post sitting in the Las Vegas airport after a week long visit with my mom. We had a great time and I was able to deliver our circle journal in person! And then the week after I got home got away from me. And now so has the weekend. It’s so true what they say; you really do need a vacation from your vacation.

Anyhow, today, I’m going to share the layout I did for Mom. But first. I thought I would share the layout she did for me. It was around my birthday when she started working on this one so I think the theme came easy to her!

circle journal 1

circle journal 2

I love the brush strokes!circle journal 3

It makes me so happy that she used the tea tags from one of her favorite teas as the border. She’s starting to look at the everyday items around her house as potential items to use in her art.

journal 1

So here is where I started; a layer of gesso (of course!) some random book pages and scrap book papers and then another layer of gesso. Next I used a great circle stencil I picked up (which I LOVE!).

journal 2

I wasn’t exactly sure where to go from here so I added some color.

journal 4

Which I didn’t care for. It was too bright? Too much? Not sure. It just wasn’t right. But it looked better with a layer of gesso (and it left a great texture). I went looking for some inspiration and remembered a post from Donna Downey sharing some cool trees she was working on (check that out here). So, I was back in business. After testing out my version of these super cool trees, I put paint to paper.

journal 7

Now the addition of color looks right!

journal 8

Here’s a close up of my tree. I was pretty pleased with the way it turned out!

journal 6

I thought it would be fun to create a bird to finish off this layout. I sketched him out on cardstock and embossed the swirlydo thingies.

journal 10

Now, I realize the perpective is a bit off. It’s either a giant bird or a tiny tree….maybe both? But I like it and even better, so did my mom!

I know this isn’t a travel blog, but I thought I’d share a pic of my mom and me (since this is our circle journal)…..

Mom & MeTill next week,
Cheers,

Michelle

4 Responses to “The one with the new circle journal layout”

  1. jimmiesworld February 13, 2013 at 4:38 am #

    Love the picture of you and your mom. Tell her I have that exact same shirt. I’m pretty sure we would like each other. 🙂

    • studiobukowski February 17, 2013 at 1:20 am #

      I know you would! She loves to have fun, loves all things sparkly and has the personality to match! just like you!

  2. Danielle Leonetti Taylor March 7, 2013 at 3:31 am #

    I love that you and your mom do a circle journal that is awesome and your pages are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

