The one with the canvas made out of a granola box

10 Mar

Good morning and happy Sunday!

This week, I’d like to share something a bit different. I was inspired to paint on canvas recently. But not just any canvas! Nope, I made this one out of a granola bar box. Yes, you read that right; a granola bar box. I believe I was inspired to make this canvas by Jennibellie, but when I went searching for her post to share, I came up empty handed. If anyone knows of this post (or if Jennibellie by chance sees this) I’d love to link to it and give her proper credit.

Once I had the canvas made, I knew I wanted to try a mixed media piece inspired by Christy Tomlinson. I am still trying to find my own unique style and sometimes imitating an artist you like is a good way to find it (thank you Julie Fei-Fan Balzer – it’s validating to hear someone else echo this). So, here is my piece inspired by Ms. Tomlinson.

canvas 1There are a lot of steps from start to finish, so we’ll start with the granola bar box. To begin, I reinforced the sides with masking tape.

C2

C4After I felt like the canvas we sufficiently reinforced, I cut the bottom out with an exacto knife. I added a layer of masking tape to that edge so it also feels finished.

C3A few layers of gesso and we’re ready to go!

C5The first layer is newsprint and scrapbook paper.

C6

I then added some texture with a stencil and Golden Course Molding Paste.

C7And then, I just added elements and color until I was happy with the background.

C8You’ll notice I changed the color palate up a bit. I wasn’t happy with the purples and reds, so I went with yellows and oranges.

C9

C10

C11

C12Here’s where I got a bit nervous. I really liked the background, but I’ve never included a person (that I made) in my art. I was sure this would be were I screwed up.

C13

C14

But, what do you know? She turned out pretty good, if I do say so myself. I made this piece with a friend in mind who among other things, is helping me express my inner artist in the way I dress and show myself to the world on a daily basis. I thought this quote from Coco Chanel was perfect for her. She’s one of the most stylish women I have ever met and  her style enhances the beautiful woman she is inside and out. C15

So, not a bad first attempt (and I hope my friend likes her!). Thank you to Jenniebellie, Christy and Julie for their inspiration and helping me find my style.

Till next week.

Cheers,
Michelle

Leave a Reply

