The one with the canvas out of a cereal box

7 Apr

Happy Sunday.

It finally feels like Spring here in Nashville! I love watching all the trees burst with flowers (seemingly) overnight! One of my favorites are the Bradford Pear trees:

BP

So, this week, I will share another up-cycled canvas; this time I made it out of a cereal box. I reinforced the edges of the box with masking tape and then covered with gesso. After the gesso dried, I cut the bottom of the box off, reinforced those edges with masking tape, re-gessoed and let it dry.

CB 1

CB 2

Next, I covered it with some scrapbook papers and book pages using my favorite, Golden Soft Gel Medium. This piece is for a friend whose favorite color is purple, so my choice of color pallet was easy.

CB 3

I thought some texture was in order so I used a circle stencil with some Golden Course Molding Paste.

CB 4

CB 5

CB 6

I printed off a picture of this bird (I did my best to make sure it royalty free) and painted him to fit my purple color pallet.

CB 7

And now the fun part. Mixing shades of purple and adding to the piece. A bit here and there; using a stencil, painting the molding paste, adding until it felt right……

CB 8

and not liking any of it so I covered it with a thinish layer of gesso. Using gesso in this way is a great way to tone down strong colors, unify colors (paint or paper, or any other material really) that may not at first glance go together; there are lots of fun ways to use it!

CB 9

I used some painted newsprint that I had left over from my last art journal layout. My thought was to add some letter stamps as part of the background. Funny thing, the ink didn’t hold up to the soft gel medium. I’m not sure if the ink wasn’t dry enough or what, but after I adhered the pieces to the canvas, the ink disappeared. Oh, well, sometimes you try something and it works and other times, not so much.

CB 10

I used bubble wrap, another stencil, applied paint with my fingers (takes me back to my childhood – I LOVED finger painting!) and really kept adding layers until I was happy.

1

I think you can see all the textures and layers here. With my background finished, the only thing left it to add the focal point.

CB finish 2

I really love this quote and I thought it was perfect for my friend.

CB finish

And here it is all finished.

I’m pretty pleased the way it turned out. Tell me what you think; I always enjoy your comments!

Till next week,
Cheers,
Michelle

7 Responses to “The one with the canvas out of a cereal box”

  1. jimmiesworld April 9, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    This one is beautiful. It made me sigh, in the peaceful way.

  2. Danielle Leonetti Taylor April 11, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

    GORGEOUS!!!

  3. Niall Dooley June 28, 2013 at 12:46 am #

    Hi friends

    WOndering if you could help me with a query i had..?

    I’m planning to make quite a large painting on a large square of free canvas rolled out on the ground.

    I’m using a roll of preprimed basic canvas..
    So my query is as i’d like to thicken it out with extra primer of some sort, making it stronger yet quiet malleable to roll.

    I would like to make this light enough canvas almost weighed and aged by the application kind of like the feeling of an old wax jacket. It doesn’t necessarily have to be a oil finish, as im not sure if im going to be using oil or acrylic yet.

    Im planning to paint on the ground in public and it will take a lot time to finish so ill be rolling it up and out many times, taking it out and bring home everyday, therefore these extras layers will make the large sheet of canvas just more substantial as in durable also.

    If anyone gets the kind of feel for how i want to process this pretty flimsy large rectangle of canvas, before i take it on to the street then Please let me know what i should do, or any suggestions would be appreciated greatly thanks.

    Regards from Berlin,

    Niall D.

    • studiobukowski June 29, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

      Sounds like a fun project! I’ve never tried anything like that – making it feel like an old wax jacket….anyone have any good suggestions for Niall?

  4. Patricia Ross July 8, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    Absolutely beautiful! I love using my old recycles for surfaces. I keep a binder full of ‘junk’ for that purpose alone. Thanks for following me, I’m psyched that your trail led here ;D

    • studiobukowski July 8, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

      Thank you! I can’t wait to see some of your your up-cycled projects. I enjoyed your blog and your artwork. Looking forward to more!

Leave a Reply

