The one with journal challenge #3

13 Apr

Happy Saturday.

So, if you’ve been following my blog, you know that I’ve already completed 2 out of the 5 journal layouts I challenged myself to work on. If you’re brand new to Studio B, you can read about that challenge here.

This week I worked on layout #3 and here is how it started out:

journal 3I went ahead and covered it with a layer of gesso to tone down all the harsh colors from the first layer of paint and the wrapping paper.

Journal 1The inspiration for this layout came from a Trader Joe’s bad. I’ve been frequenting TJ’s lately, and I kept getting those cool kraft bags that has some really fun artwork on them. (I have since bought a reusable TJ’s bag since I now go once a week. They have some really great gluten free items that I’ve been enjoying).

journal 2I mixed some Burnt Umber, Red Oxide and Naphthol Crimson for the background color.

journal 3Next, I cut out some of the more fun elements from the bag. This layout kinda designed itself.

journal 4The last layer is a gesso wash to tone it down a bit. Since I used Goldens Soft Gel Medium as my adhesive, it was easy to  wipe the gesso off those elements so they still stand out.

And layout #3 is done. Kind of easy and quick this week, but sometimes, that’s how it works out.

What do you think of my homage to Trader Joe’s? I’d love to read any comments.

Till next week,
Cheers!
Michelle

One Response to “The one with journal challenge #3”

  1. Danielle Leonetti Taylor April 13, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    Looks absolutely fantastic!

Leave a Reply

