The one with the Zero Landfill Project

20 Apr

Happy Saturday!

So, I’m sitting in my art room, uploading pictures for this weeks post and I catch movement out of the corner of my eye. I turn my head and this is what I see:

turkeyYep, that’s a turkey folks. We live in what I believe is now called a bedroom community, so it’s not like we’re out in the country. But we do get a ton of wildlife walking through our yard; it’s just usually the backyard. In fact, earlier today, I saw the tail end of our coyote running at the bottom of the hill in our backyard into the woods. Anyhow, turkeys tickle me so I had to shoot a few pics.

Today, I had the opportunity to take advantage of the Zero Landfill Project.

ZLPI have been waiting for this since my friend and fellow artist, Robyn, told me about it last week. If you’ve never heard of the ZLP, it’s an upcycling project benefiting local artists and educators while reducing items thrown into landfills. They put out a call to local architectural firms, interior designers etc to donate all the samples they would normally throw out. And because the ZLP is so freaking cool, they GIVE all the stuff away for FREE. FREE! I was like a kid in a candy store.

Here are the treasures I left with:

ZLF 1Not a bad haul, huh? I was able to get enough for my own personal projects, some for a friend of mine who also does art journaling, some to use in the mixed media workshop I’m designing (don’t worry, when it’s ready, I will share it with you!) and some to split up for a few programs I’m working on over the summer (for my day job).

ZLP 3The wallpaper samples are amazing! Beautiful colors, some have incredible textures…..

ZLP 2And this beauty. It’s a sample book filled with vintage looking papers (I kept this one for myself!)

ZLP 4

I haven’t used a lot of fabric in my art, but now I have enough to last, well, quite a long time!

ZLP 5Beautiful! And some of the patterns have already inspired new ideas!

This fantastic event is over two weekends, so I’m going back next Saturday with Robyn. I encourage you to check out the site to see if they do this in your area. And if so, it’s well worth the trip. I was assured that there would be even more treasure to find next week and I can’t wait!!!

Let me know if you are lucky enough to have a ZLP in your area and if so, what treasures did you find?

Till next week,
Cheers!
Michelle

2 Responses to “The one with the Zero Landfill Project”

  1. Katie April 22, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    Looks like you got a lot of really great things for your art! It was great to see after you talked about how excited you were on Friday night 🙂 Good luck!

    • studiobukowski April 22, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

      It was a blast, Katie. And I already started using some of that fantastic wallpaper!

Leave a Reply

