The one with art journal challenge #4

1 Jun

Happy Saturday.

You may recall a while back when I challenged myself to come up with 5 different designs from similar layouts (read the original post here). I’ve been working on the fourth one. It’s been a long process, but I finally finished it.

I started here:

J1Well, truth be told, I did tear off some of the layers of wrapping paper I had originally used cause it was just a bit much.

J2Last Christmas, my hubs and I made crayons for some of the younger kids in our families. As we were unwrapping crayon after crayon, I decided to save them  for, well, something. They sat in a bag for months until I remembered seeing a video where Donna Downey covered one of her journal pages in ribbon. So, I finally got that bag out and I loved the results.

J3I used Golden Soft Gel Medium to adhere the wrappers to the pages. And let me tell you, that was MESSY! But what’s better than being messy when creating something fun, huh?!

J4I love how it turned out but I let it sit like this for a long time since  I wasn’t sure what to do next. And then, earlier this week, I had the bright idea to add some circles (cause I love circles so how could it go wrong?)
This is what went wrong:

journal 1And how do you fix poorly placed circles? By adding more (sure, sure)

journal 2And since that is clearly not working, how about adding a second ink (an inferior brand that apparently will NEVER dry and makes me realize that I will never buy any other than Winsor & Newton again) to the mix?

journal 3So that when I got frustrated that a layout which had  started out so well, went south quickly, the inferior ink bleeds under the gesso I have added to fix my layout. I put this aside for a bit……. And when I was ready to try again, I flipped through one of my Nashville Art mags and found a few images I thought could help this page. Since it started whimsical with the crayon wrappers, it needed to finish that way. Once the images were found, I finally figured out how to salvage the layout.

journal 5I added (using the highly superior Winsor & Newton drawing ink) these whimsical curly thingies….

journal 6added stripes…

journal 7And these really fun musicians. And I’m back to liking this layout!

journal 8journal 9And as you can see, the crayon wrappers are still a vibrant part of this layout.

I’d love to hear what you think! Till next week,

Cheers,
Michelle

3 Responses to “The one with art journal challenge #4”

  1. suecarroll1 June 5, 2013 at 6:11 am #

    LOVE your crayon wrappers:) Fun pages…I think you’re too critical of yourself…Circles were a great start:)

    • studiobukowski June 6, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

      Thank you for the kind remarks. I am working on being less critical, but it’s a good reminder to hear it from someone else. Thanks for reading!

  2. Amy August 4, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    WOW! I really love the crayon wraps as your background! That looked so fun!

Leave a Reply

