The one with the creative warm up exercises

8 Jun

Happy Saturday.

Over the last few weeks, I’ve struggled with my creativity. Ideas weren’t flowing and even perusing the many artists blogs I follow didn’t help. So, I started watching some of the videos I’d saved on my art journal Pinterest board and ran across a great video from Dina Wakley. She talks about beginning with a creative warm up kind of like an athlete would warm up before playing a game. At her suggestion, I found a box of tags at my local office supply place (although, I’d love to know where she finds tags in boxes of 1000 – I found a box of 100 and was thrilled).

The idea is to get the creative juices flowing, not to worry about creating master pieces. So, I got out some ink refills, a spray bottle of water, my tags, palate paper and got started!

tags 1

tags 2I sprayed each drop of ink refill quite a few times. And then basically dipped the tag into the inks…

tags 3

A few dabs here and there and I have tags. More importantly, it did get the creative juices flowing. So now, when I sit down to create and I’m not exactly sure what I’m going to work on or if I get stuck, I pull out some tags and some paint or inks and play. I LOVE it!

warm up tagsHere are some tags I made using acrylic paints (sprayed with a lot of water). I’ve also tried water colors paints (soft bodied) and they work great.

Of course, now I’ll have a bunch of tags all over the place. But I envision using them on cards, cutting parts of them out for journal layouts or art cards; the possibilities are endless. I used one to send a (short) recipe to my aunt the other day. Art on the front, recipe on the back.

So, thanks to Dina. Such a simple idea but one that has made a huge difference for me over the last few weeks. Let me know if you give it a try. Or do you already have a creative warm up? I’d love to hear what you do before you start.

Till next week,
Cheers,
Michelle

2 Responses to “The one with the creative warm up exercises”

  1. Danielle Leonetti Taylor June 8, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    What a fantastic creative exercise! I love how your tags turned out!

    • studiobukowski June 9, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

      Thank you! It’s proving to be a really fun addition to my creative practice. Wait till you see what else I’m doing (check it out next Sat :D)

Leave a Reply

