The one with magazine page painting and a creative warm up

15 Jun

Happy Saturday!

A while back, my hubs put a salt lick in our backyard cause deer love it and I love seeing them. Since then, he’s seen them in the morning, the evening, really, anytime I’ve not been home. Til yesterday afternoon! I was finally treated to a deer sighting by the salt lick! Here are two of the threesome that stopped by for some salt:

deerSix years of seeing deer in our yard and I still love it!

Ok, so on to the art.

Last week, I shared with you Dina Wakley’s creative warm up practice and how I’ve started using it when I sit down to create. In addition to using tags for this process, she suggested using small journals. Of course, I have a multitude of unused cute little journals so I thought “why not start using a warm up journal?”

About the same time, I had come across this fun video showing Shannon Green’s painted paper process. Which I fell in love with! For one reason, she paints on magazine pages and I have a ton of mags! Which I use in a lot of different ways, but never like this. Why am I telling you about these two very different things? Read on….

I started with a nice thick magazine page….

JNext, I used an old gift card as my pallet knife and just applied the acrylic paint right on to the magazine page. No prep. No gesso (can you believe it?!)

Mag pg1Basically, I added acrylic paint until I was happy with the look.

mags 2So, now I had this cool page but I wasn’t sure what to do with it. Until I pulled out my new creative warm up journal. I mean, come on, its cover needs to be a work of art as well!

journal 3aI used gel medium to adhere the painted magazine page to the journal and voila: a pretty creative warm up journal.

journal 3

journal 6

cw 4And now to share my creative warm up. I used a few different colors (all acrylic paints this time) and applied them with a (real) pallet knife. A lot like I did on my painted magazine page. No rhyme or reason. Just working with color. Although, I have a feeling that I created a cool background for a journal layout somewhere down the road.

So there you are. A second creative warm up practice. Tell me what you think. And please share any of your  practices. I love hearing about new ways to jump start my creative mind!

Cheers,
Michelle

Leave a Reply

