The one with the newest granola box canvas

22 Jun

Happy Saturday.

Last week, I shared a photo of some of the does that spent some time  in our yard. This week, we were treated to 4 bucks (and one feisty doe) so, of course  had to post one (of the many) photos I took. Isn’t he something?

bucks

You know, I never get tired of seeing wildlife pass through our tiny part of the world. So, this week, I finished another art piece on a granola box canvas. I love the size of these boxes! They’re about 5 1/2 x 6 3/4. Not too big and not too small. Anyhow, this one was for a very special woman I work with. She takes care of our entire building and everyone in it and always makes time to stop by, say hello and share her beautiful smile. I look forward to her visit everyday!

After prepping my canvas (using masking tape and gesso)

CB 2

I began with a layer of misc papers and Golden Gel Medium…..

Granola 1Originally, I started with a pallet of yellows and greens,

granola 2but that wasn’t talking to me so I moved on to reds and blues,

granola 3which turned into mostly shades of reds and pinks as I added layers.

granola 4

Using my (favorite) Winsor and Newton drawing ink, I started sketching out some flowers.

granola 6

filled them in with black acrylic paint…..

granola 7

And completed it with this fantastic quote: “Those who don’t believe in magic, will never find it.”

granola 8

A big shout out to JC, who lent me these fantastic letter stamps by Close to My Heart (I LOVE this font!)

granola 9

granola 10

granola 11This little bird stamp is on tissue paper and I used Golden Gel Medium to adhere him to the canvas.

Thanks for stopping by. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. And in case you were wondering, it was a big hit with my friend.

Cheers,
Michelle

Leave a Reply

