The one with alcohol and acrylics

10 Aug

Happy Saturday,

And before you ask, I mean rubbing alcohol, not the drinking kind! It’s been nice to finally get back in my art room and be free to create again. Between work and home renovations, I haven’t been able to paint in about 3 weeks. Way too long! So it was really nice this weekend to have the chance to work on multiple pieces (cause ya know, I have no patience for anything to dry!)

A good friend was kind enough to give me this:

Mag1I just love the size and shape of this mag! I decided to make it into another journal. Naturally, I started with the cover (and if you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you may recall I used these figures in my crayon wrapper layout recently – and thank you for sticking with me!)

I wasn’t sure what to do for the cover, but I remembered a YouTube video that shared a technique using rubbing alcohol and acrylic paints (the link is at the end of the post).

Mag2A generous layer of gesso…

Mag3Here’s my first layer of color. I blended Titanium White (Liquitex Basics)  and Manganese Blue Hue (Golden Artist Colors) and brushed it on.

Mag4Next is the fun part! I used an eye dropper to drip the alcohol (it was recommended to use 91% Isopropyl) onto my page. It was really cool to see the paint separate and form these free forms. Unfortunately  I had to wait for this to dry (see how having multiple projects comes in handy!)

Mag5For the second layer, I went with a silvery gray (I don’t recall what I mixed) and repeated the process. I have to say, I was pretty pleased!

Mag6A little more gesso to highlight the areas I wanted to draw on…..

Mag8I’ve been really having fun with flowers lately so it seemed like the right thing to do.

Mag9My cover is complete. I will share this tip with you: have patience and let your hand drawn with drawing ink image dry completely before you try to use soft gel adhesive.  Or you will end up smearing your sweet little butterfly like I did and have to go back once the adhesive really dries and draw it again.

Have you ever tried using alcohol and acrylics? Did you have fun? I’d love to hear about it. Hope you like this week’s creation. See you next Saturday!

Oh, and here’s that link (almost forgot) to the video: acrylics and alcohol don’t mix, do they?

Cheers,
Michelle

5 Responses to “The one with alcohol and acrylics”

  1. Amy August 10, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    I just absolutely love how this turned out! I’ve seen the alcohol and acrylic technique around, but never tried it for myself. After seeing how great your’s turned out, I may have to give it a try!

  2. craftymadre August 11, 2013 at 1:07 am #

    That is so cool! I just used rubbing alcohol to make spray ink (which I love) but I have plenty left to try this out with.

Leave a Reply

