The one with little houses

7 Oct

Happy Sunday.

It’s been a gloomy day here in Nashville. We’ve been experiencing rain storms off and on all day and the temperature has been dropping. Quite a difference from the 80something degree sunny day we had yesterday but a great day to play in my art room!

Anyhow, my crazy work month is finally over and I am home again on the weekends. Which means I am back to painting on a regular basis! I can’t tell you how happy this makes me! Today, I’ve been dividing my time between the 3 foot by 3 foot canvas I’m working on for my friend and one of  my art journals. I finished the journal page so I’ll share that one.

J1A few layers of color applied with a pallet knife (well, a gift card being used as a pallet knife) started off the page.

J2While that dried, I painted a few book pages using acrylic paints (fluids and soft bodied). These pages will be used for my focal element; little house.

J3For the next layer, I added some stamps using white craft ink.

J4Using some of my recycled tools (bubble wrap, peanut butter jar lid, the plastic piece tape comes on and a cork), I added some texture and interest.

J5Each part of the each house was drawn on different papers (some of those painted pages and some scrapbook papers) and I glued them all down using soft gel medium.

J6The final element was adding “Home is where the heart is” in white drawing ink.

I’ve seen a lot of people use these types of whimsical houses in their art journals and I’ve been wanting to give it a try for a while. I’m really pleased with the way the page turned out so you will most likely see more of these little houses in the future.

I’d love to hear what you think so please leave a comment below.

Till next week,Cheers,
Michelle

Leave a Reply

