The one with new handmade cards

12 Jan

Happy Saturday.

I don’t know about you, but I feel like 2014 is off and running! It’s been a busy week at Studio B. I chose my one little word for 2014 (drum roll please)…. ACT.  Three little letters with big meaning:

1 a :  the doing of a thing :  deed

  b :  something done voluntarily
2:  a state of real existence rather than possibility
3:  the process of doing :  action

For me, the reminder to ACT will be the reminder that spending time working on my creative endevors daily will allow me to acheive my goal of becoming a full time artist. In fact, doing something, even if it’s only for 10 minutes each day, is the only way it will become a reality. So, my first ACT this year to incororate using my one word was to create this January goal card.

Act

front of “Act” card

Act 2

back of “Act” card

Nothing fancy, but that really wasn’t the point. The important thing was that I got it done.

The other project I’ve been working on this week is hand made cards. Starting with left over event posters from work, the first layer is (of course)  gesso.

cards 2

Next comes the fun part; adding acrylic paint with a pallet knife. I use Liquitex Basic and Heavey Bodied acrylic paints and spread the color out with my pallet knife until I’m happy with it.

cards1I use some of these sheets for background and some for the focal elements. I draw the flowers with Winsor & Newton drawing ink and seal it with a spray acrylic.

card3

flower elements

card5I cut the backgrounds down to fit my cards and cut out all the flowers (which takes a while).

cards6I use soft gel medium to adhere the flowers to the background. After allowing the gel medium to dry, I drew the stems.

card7and finally, I attach them to the card.

card10

card9

This set is for my personal use. I’m also working on some cards to take to Atmalogy (over on West End).

I’d love to hear what you think of my cards! Please share your adventures with your One Little Word as well!
Till next week,
Cheers,
Michelle

4 Responses to “The one with new handmade cards”

  1. The Editors of Garden Variety January 12, 2014 at 6:39 pm #

    Very creative Michelle. I love them!

  2. Isis77125@aol.com January 13, 2014 at 12:49 am #

    Michelle, I like these. How do you find the time for all of this. I am in the process of turning the extra bedroom in to a craft room. It has been more an office/guest room and I do the crafts on my desk. So, it has to be something I can do fast. Thanks to Ikea I have found some good ideas on furnishing the room to make it work. Miss you, Teri

    • studiobukowski January 14, 2014 at 2:25 am #

      Hey Teri. I do my best to protect my weekends so I get at least one day to work on my art. And I have a dedicated art room so I don’t have to clean up. I”m glad to hear that you’re going to have your own craft room! Do you all have an Ikea down there now? Our closest one is Atlanta 😦 Miss you, my friend

Leave a Reply

