The one where I go back to my art journal

19 Jan

Happy Sunday!

I am continuing with my One Little Word, ACT this week by going back to my art journal. But first, here is my creative reminder to ACT:

ActI haven’t created in my journal since I went to the Estuary late last year so it was fun going back where this all started for me. I chose random papers to start and then covered the entire layout with gesso.

journal 1Next layer is some various shades of blue acrylic paints. J2I didn’t really  have a plan for this layout. I have been admiring Roben-Marie Smith’s work for a while so I think in the back of my head I had the idea to create something inspired by her.

J3I created this element using book pages and an old map.

J4The Nashville element was a leftover experiment from another art piece. I used Liquitex acrylic ink around the circles on the left side.

J5I added the little element at the bottom left using more book pages and washi tape. The border is Tim Holtz’ Distress Paint. I picked that one up a while back and hadn’t used it yet. I am happy to report that I LOVE it! The distress paint comes in a little tube with it’s own paint dabber. Super easy to use.

J8

J9I don’t think this layout is finished and I’m not sure where it will go from here. However, I’m really pleased with the it so far. Even more pleased that I took some time to create something for myself. I’ve been busy this week working on new items to take to  Atmalogy, so it was fun to work on something for myself. And I think that’s what I’m taking away from this week. I am working hard (ACT) to complete the steps necessary to make the move to being a full time artist. But all work and no play will quickly take the joy of being a full time artist away. So, moving forward, I will do my best to include some art play each week.

Till next time,
Cheers,
Michelle

2 Responses to “The one where I go back to my art journal”

  1. mkjohnsen January 20, 2014 at 2:22 am #

    Nice job! I too have been admiring Roben Marie Smith’s work lately – but have some other journals to finish up before I get to move on! Like the circles – think they will be my shape of choice this year!!!

    • studiobukowski January 20, 2014 at 2:46 am #

      Thank you! I love circles – they are always my first choice 😀

Leave a Reply

