The one with creative community

23 Feb

Good morning and happy Sunday.

Last night, I went to Jake Wells show opening, Upcycled, at the Turnip Green Creative Reuse. I had the pleasure of meeting Jake a few weeks back at the TGCR and he described his work, but seeing it in person was truly inspirational! His use of acrylic paints and found objects is like nothing I’ve seen before. I didn’t get any pictures from last night, but check out their Facebook page for a few photo albums.

I also had the pleasure of meeting Carrie from Platetone, who kindly showed me around, answered my many questions and even helped me make this print:

photo (1)I have an idea for a project and it looks like I found a place to work on it (once they get that letterpress). I am really enjoying getting to know the artists who work in those two spaces. And the artists who gather there. Everyone is welcoming and interested in hearing about your particular type of art. It’s validating. It’s comfortable and it feels like home.

So, on to what I’ve been up to in my studio. Recently, I finished a layout in the circle journal I share with my mom (you can read more about that here). Here is what I created this time around:

circle1

She is my version of SheArt, the brainchild of  the very talented (and one of my faves) Christy Tomlinson.

circle2

I used the inside of a security envelope for the circles. I hand wrote (instead of using stamps for once) Believe in Yourself on book pages (gessoed first).

circle3

I used scrapbook paper for her dress and (different) book pages for her body.

circle5

cirlce4

All in all, I was really pleased with the way she turned out. Mom seems to like her as well (so it’s a win win!).

I’m going run. I have some friends coming over this afternoon to help me practice teaching my art journal workshop. I mentioned a few weeks back that I put in my proposal to teach at the Turnip Green. Well, nothing is official yet, but it looks like we’re moving forward. So, now I have to practice teaching! This week, I’m going to show them how to bind their journal out of recycles paper and then we’re going to decorate the cover.  Wish me luck!

Till next week,
Cheers,
Michelle

Leave a Reply

