The one with handpainted cards

6 Jul

Good afternoon. Before I started blogging, I read a lot of dos and donts about being a successful blogger. One thing I read over and over again was not to apologize when you miss a few posts. I think I’ve missed a few months. As I’m not big on excuesses, I won’t give you any. I will say that I have been acting though (my One Little Word for the year is ACT). I’ve started teaching a Creative Play Art Journal Workshop at the Turnip Green Creative Reuse. The Turnip Green has a grant with the Nashville Public library to provide art workshops and I have been fortunate enought to lead some of those as well. I’ve produced some new art for sale (some at the Turnip Green and some at Atmalogy).  And I’ve taken some time to create just for myself. Most recently, I have started an artist page on Facebook. If you’re so inclined, please check it out. If you like what you see, please follow my page. Don’t forget to click the drop down box (on the like tab) and click Get Notifications so you’ll see my posts on you wall. This week, I want to share some handpainted cards I just finished. These cards were inspired by Rae Missigman and they are a lot of fun to paint. Enjoy!

Since I’m a reuse artist, I used magazine pages for this project.

Adding detail…..

Finished cards

Finished cards

I’d love to know what you think of my cards. I’ll be back next week with some more new art pieces. Thanks for continuing to follow and read. Cheers, Michelle

2 Responses to “The one with handpainted cards”

  1. createsumzing July 7, 2014 at 1:24 am #

    Yeah, I can see the correlation between your cards and Rae’s style. Black and white doodles or outlines are among the many things that can bring a piece forward. Traci Bautista, for example, certainly likes to run wild with doodling.

    • studiobukowski July 7, 2014 at 8:04 pm #

      I love Traci’s work! She is also someone I go to for inspiration. I hope over time it takes on more of my own style.

Leave a Reply

